Search form

You are here

June 4, 2020 - Remote Instruction Plan and Phasing

As you now know from the Town Hall meeting on Tuesday, June 2, we will be continuing remote instruction for the Fall semester with limited on-campus offerings for those classes such as labs or clinicals that cannot be delivered remotely. The safety and security of our students, faculty and staff are of the utmost importance. With so much still unknown, it is not prudent to come back fully to face-to-face engagement on campus at this time.

We will be mirroring our “return to campus” strategies after the Massachusetts Plan. We are following a similar Four Phase approach for returning to campus and direct service to the community.  The ultimate goal is to reach Phase Four, our “New Normal,” which will safely bring the return of full on-campus operations with vigilance, when a vaccine is widely available.

  • Today we are in Phase One, the “Start” phase. Currently we are developing safety protocols, requirements and expectations in order to prepare for limited face-to face engagement on campus for certain labs and clinicals during Summer I and II, as well as the completion of spring courses that were unable to be safely completed. Plans and protocols will also be completed for the Fall semester. There will continue to be a minimum campus footprint. This phase will continue until such time as we reach Phase II, the “Cautious” phase, anticipated to begin for Summer II.
  • We have developed seven Work Groups that will advise and oversee our four-phased return to campus. These groups will help guide us as we navigate the coming weeks and months. Please reach out to the group chairs with any questions, or innovative suggestions you might have.

Work Group leads include the following:

  1. Student On-Boarding - Ken Dwyer, ddwyer [at] qcc.mass.edu
  2. On Campus Services –  Cary Morse, cmorse [at] qcc.mass.edu
  3. Offsite and Downtown Center –  Kathie Manning, kmanning [at] qcc.mass.edu
  4. Re-engaging Labs, Clinicals and Practicums on Campus – Betty Lauer, blauer [at] qcc.mass.edu
  5. Infrastructure Work Group – Jim Racki and Patrick Printz , jracki [at] qcc.mass.edu; pprintz [at] qcc.mass.edu
  6. Polices/HR Group - Elizabeth Austin and Sara Simms, eaustin [at] qcc.mass.edu; ssimms [at] qcc.mass.edu
  7. Enrollment/Student Affairs Groups – Michelle Tufau Afriyie,  mtufau [at] qcc.mass.edu
  • We will be continue to update you and keep you informed and engaged. We will communicate via email; on QCC.edu and shared through social media. Please make sure to take a moment and read the updates. We will also continue to hold Town Hall meetings as we move through this four-phase process.

Thank you for your continued commitment and support of our students. It is only through your unwavering determination and fortitude that we will realize our goal of 100 percent student success. The days ahead may be filled with some uncertainty, but there is nothing more certain than the strength of our QCC community. I see a promising future ahead, and together we will do great things.

I thank each of you for being a part of our QCC family.