You are here

Seventeen QCC Professors Honored with National Award

Contact: Cherie Ronayne
Office of Institutional Communications
cronayne [at]

Release Date: 

WORCESTER – Seventeen Quinsigamond Community College professors have recently been honored with a teaching excellence award from the National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development.

The NISOD was created in 1978 and is dedicated the professional development of faculty, staff, and administrators of colleges and universities and continues to seek improvements in teaching and learning. Each year at its International Conference on Teaching and Leadership Excellence, professors chosen for the NISOD Excellence Award are honored.

“We are proud that a large number of our professors were chosen for this award,” states Pat Toney, interim Vice President of Academic Affairs. “It is a testament to their hard work, passion for teaching, and dedication to the students of Quinsigamond.”

Professors were chosen based on the recommendation of the College. Nominees were asked to write a short essay on what motivates them and inspires their work, what strategies help in their striving for excellence, and any words of wisdom they might pass on to others. 
The annual Excellence Awards tradition allows NISOD to honor some of world's best in higher education. Recipients of the NISOD Excellence Awards from QCC are as follows: 

Karl Anderson 
Virginia Asadoorian
Amy Beaudry
Sheila Booth
John Brand
Andreana Grimaldo
Leslie Horton
Daniel McAuliffe

Dr. William McCarthy

Fyiane Nsilo-Swai

Robert Palmer
Joan Perry
Joanne Preston

Denies Robichaud

Jane Shea
Dagne Yesihak
Trent Masiki

Quinsigamond Community College is the most affordable higher education in Worcester County. As a regional leader in education and workforce development, QCC serves the diverse educational needs of Central Massachusetts by providing affordable, accessible, and high quality programming leading to transfer, career, and lifelong learning.